Ultimate magazine theme for WordPress.

Trump extends travel ban to six more countries

Nigeria Kyrgyzstan Sudan Eritrea and Tanzania included in the restricted travel list

President Trump on Friday added six countries,Nigeria, Myanmar, former soviet state Kyrgyzstan, Sudan, Eritrea and Tanzania to his restricted travel list. The total number of countries now on the restricted list stands at 13.

Immigrant visas, issued to those seeking to live in the United States, will be banned for Nigeria, Myanmar, Eritrea and Kyrgyzstan. The ban will also prevent immigrants from Sudan and Tanzania from moving to the United States through the diversity visa lottery, which grants green cards to as many as 50,000 people a year. Immigrants will be able to apply for waivers,which will be issued to those with the potential of experiencing undue hardship if denied entry into the United States.

The proclamation will be effective from  February 22 and it wont affect immigrants who’ll obtain visas before then. Also Non immigrant visas, including those for students and certain temporary workers as well as those reserved for potential employees, will not be affected.

The expansion of the restrictions, is likely to hinder more than 12,300 potential immigrants in the next year from resettling, finding work or reuniting with their families in the United States. The effect on Nigeria, could be particularly severe, as the  United States issued more than 7,920 immigrant visas to Nigerians in the 2018 fiscal year, the second-most of any African country.

Officials with the Department of Homeland Security and the State Department who briefed reporters on the condition of anonymity said Eritrea, Tanzania and Kyrgyzstan were being added to the list because each country had either had not satisfied the administration’s information-sharing requirements related to terrorism or did not have updated passport systems. Sudan on the other hand remained a state sponsor of terrorism, while “elevated risk and threat environment in the country”  justified the move on Nigeria.

The administration also announced on Friday that most foreign nationals traveling from China would be temporarily suspended entry in the United States.



Comments are closed.